Night time is the right time.

There’s something about the sea. The sound of sea gulls and crashing waves.  Stone throwing and fish and chips.  The coast has a way of excorcising stress demons.  If you listen keenly, underneath the water’s deliciously enticing chants, you can hear a chorus of shoulders dropping, and huge exhalation.

My fiancee and I have been blessed with the grace to be living near the sea; a dream, this urban man had been nurturing since he found it washed up on Brighton Beach sometime in his youth.

Now I guess you could say I’m a healthy person.  I go to the gym.  I don’t smoke.  Drink in moderation and watch what I eat (within reason).  I’ve recently started swapping the monotony of the treadmill for the beach at night.  The sound of the lunar persuasion, the stillness of the late hour and the huge crystal white gulps of chilled sea air create a welcome escape from WIFI, SMS and LCD.  In the darkness I find a way to look within, clear out all the waste and prepare for the day ahead.

I’m not ready to give up the gym membership yet; after all, I can’t bench press a rock, however after discovering my secret star lit escape, plugging headphones into a conveyor belt and watching yet another screen seems, well… a little ridiculous!

About The Other Me

Londoner born and raised. Living in Denmark. Occasional singer/songwriter, music fan, nearly author, recovering procrastinator. To read or listen to the amateur stuff I call my art, click on the picture and press the links to either my FB, Wordpress or bandcamp pages. Thanks
This entry was posted in General, Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

