She gets me!

I am blessed! I have found my soul mate! Maybe ‘soul mate’ sounds a little cheesy. I have found the woman that completes me. Now I know that sounds like one of those lines people spout when they want to sound romantic, (and the fact that it’s February 13th has nothing to do with the timing of this blog) but I can honestly say the woman completes me!

We’re getting married within a few months. Putting aside our shared faith, taste in music, art, food, interior design, architecture and all the rest, what I value so much is our shared love and need for self expression. She writes and is an amazing portrait photographer (www.claudiajrphotography.com). She was also a professional street dancer and teacher/choreographer. She has now added textiles to her ever growing list of outlets. Creativity is in her blood. She can’t function without it and I totally sympathise.

Creativity takes sacrifice and investment; Time, ideas, energy and sometimes money too. Explaining to your soon to be wife, that you want to spend a (relatively minuscule by the way) portion of the wedding budget on getting some studio equipment isn’t going to go down well in any relationship, but what I don’t have to do is waste time trying to convey my innate need to create, which leaves me more time to concentrate on the other more persuasive parts of my sales pitch. If I wake early or stay up all night writing, although like every partner, she’ll complain a little, she will eventually allow me the space to do my thing, because she gets it! And it works both ways: If she needs me to be her photography assistant for the afternoon, or if she wants to buy a dress for a model she’s about to shoot, I’ll complain a little, ask ‘how much?!!’ but I’ll let it be, because I get it! Commonality is the lubricant that keeps us from rubbing each other up the wrong way!

Great relationships don’t just work. I think that’s a lie! Even Formula 1 cars need maintenance, and God knows we’ve needed the odd tune up from time to time, but the fact that somethings need not be said, just makes things a little easier!

Did I get the mic? Yeah, but she got a foot rub and a dress and angel wings for a model shoot in the bargain! Reminds me I still need to give her that foot rub. Did someone say Valentine’s Day?!!

About The Other Me

Londoner born and raised. Living in Denmark. Occasional singer/songwriter, music fan, nearly author, recovering procrastinator. To read or listen to the amateur stuff I call my art, click on the picture and press the links to either my FB, Wordpress or bandcamp pages. Thanks
This entry was posted in Creativity, Musings, Personal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to She gets me!

  1. Paula Gardener says:

    This is a beautiful example of wonderful partnership!!

Leave a Reply

