You’re a What?!!!

Image via Wikipedia

The guy who lives across from me seems to live a good life.  He drives a Porsche and rides a Yamaha R1.  He has a beautiful girlfriend (not as stunning as my wife to be of course) works out and never looks stressed.  Do I envy him?…hell yeah!

We live in the same apartment complex, but haven’t held a conversation yet.  I play a little game in my head, where I try to guess people’s careers.  I thought my Mediterranean or possibly Southern American neighbour must be either in Media or Finance; however not your high street banker.  Probably a city boy!  It turns out the guy’s a dentist!   ‘A dentist?’ I replied, unable to hide my shock.  Luckily I didn’t hear this revelation from the horse’s mouth.  I’ve been known to be a little off the mark with some of my previous guesses, but this was ground breakingly wrong.  A dentist?!  I thought dentists were boring; mainly skinny, with slight greyish complexions and the constant aromatic accompaniment of oral disinfectant.

They’re supposed to drive fuel economic hybrid cars and get aroused by challenging tooth arrays and the ongoing electric vs manual toothbrush debate. They should play golf, with mediocre skill and have two children (boy and girl) who are privately educated.  They should make a point of telling everyone they meet outside the surgery, how well their son and daughter are doing and how much they view their extortionately huge school fees as a ‘hard but rewarding investment.’  Any self-respecting dentist shouldn’t however drive a German rear engined sports cars, date models or be within 5 metres of a six-pack, unless of course it is on a patient or holds non alcoholic beer.

My neighbour is a new age dentist!  He’s single-handedly shattered my dentist associated misconceptions.  He could do for dentistry what Nigel Kennedy tried to do for classically trained violinists.  He should be on posters in dentist surgeries across the country.  He should have a column in ‘Dentist’s Monthly’ (if it exists).  All that said, I wouldn’t let him anywhere near my teeth…I don’t think I could take him seriously!

About The Other Me

Londoner born and raised. Living in Denmark. Occasional singer/songwriter, music fan, nearly author, recovering procrastinator. To read or listen to the amateur stuff I call my art, click on the picture and press the links to either my FB, Wordpress or bandcamp pages. Thanks
This entry was posted in General, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You’re a What?!!!

  1. theuglymoose says:

    Mine’s just grew a goatee. It disturbs me.

    • The Other Me says:

      LOL. No I haven’t got any problems with their facial hair, unless of course they had one of those Chinese grand master goatees. Tickling the back of your throat and getting in your eye. Lol.

      Thanks for passing through man.

  2. bro says:

    Yep shocked me too ,perhaps you fit the profile better from the outside looking in a young and aspiring musician .Oh with the nice stuff on his arm.

Leave a Reply

