Why? Why? Bye Bye.

So I got home after a long day and found myself slap bang in the middle of a bad mood. I’m not entirely sure why I was in a bad mood; I just was. Claudia sensing it, asked me ‘What’s wrong?’. ‘Nothing.’ I replied, because to be in a bad mood for no apparent reason seemed unfathomable. There has to be a reason. There’s a reason for everything right? Analysis is everywhere. My friends no longer use social networks to post amusing pictures of their pets. They now pepper my news feed with small Twitter sized pieces of philosophy, social commentary and unqualified analysis.

She dates guys that are completely wrong for her. She has daddy issues.

He drives a sports car.. He’s compensating for his small…demeanour.

In a dream, he sees himself eating a burger and washing it down with a glass of vintage Champagne. He is clearly suffering from an identity crisis, anchored around issues of class.

Everything has an explanation. Nothing is by chance. As such, that which was once obtainable through hard work and some good fortune, must now be achieved via the aid of some psychic, mental reprogramming, positive affirming, speak-the-glaringly-obvious, guru.

‘You are an amazing person. You can achieve anything. You will now pay me £250.’

In bed, I found myself replaying the minutia of my day. The conversations at work, emails received, glances between drivers, searching for the derivation of my gloom. My search returned 0 results. Then just before I fell into a coma like sleep, I concluded that perhaps, just maybe it was a random, unexplainable flat spot, in my otherwise constant good vibrations.

I slept well on a cushion of new realisations and a lifted mood. I let it go, knowing I am not a psychologist. The unexplained never felt so good!

20120406-074321.jpg
Sigmund Freud. Image via time.com

About The Other Me

Londoner born and raised. Living in Denmark. Occasional singer/songwriter, music fan, nearly author, recovering procrastinator. To read or listen to the amateur stuff I call my art, click on the picture and press the links to either my FB, Wordpress or bandcamp pages. Thanks
This entry was posted in General, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why? Why? Bye Bye.

  1. Damion LaPier says:

    I wanted to post a comment but then I re read what you worte and the only thing I could come up with was purely philosophical in nature so I had to throw it out. That being said I can tell you the one thing I am certain of. A good nights sleep is worth its weight in platinum compared to a bad mood and I am glad you got some platinum. Cheers!
    D

  2. That happens to me sometimes..a foul mood for no apparent reason..I snap out of it by reluctantly turning on some of my “happy” music and eventually ending it with me jumping on my bed in a crazy like fashion..
    *exhales..* Life..:P

    • The Other Me says:

      it’s funny, music is one of the most important things in my life, but I never really consciously use it as a device to alter my mood…perhaps I should try it.

      • Be warned..not all music works..lol..
        But I always know that if I put on some Israel Houghton (my fave Gospel artist)..it always gets me out of the funk..also..smooth jazz..it causes you to concentrate on something other than how your feeling..Jazz is so beautiful you can’t actually ignore it..the hardest part is forcing myself to play anything..but when I do..it’s all smiles from there 🙂
        Music has crazy effects on me..I don’t know what I’d do without it..(crazy in a good way!) 😛

      • The Other Me says:

        Come to think of it, I do use music when I write. Jazz, sometimes classical. (I know nothing about classical music by the way).

      • Neither do I..lool..
        Actually I lie..growing up..I sang a lot of classical in Choir..but ask me to name them..I wouldn’t know..but I remember all the words! 😛

Leave a Reply

