Some Post Pressed Analysis

When I received the email telling me that I’ve been Freshly Pressed, I replied with a tone of gratitude somewhere between an Oscar acceptance speech and a back stage Justin Bieber fan. I think I concluded with the line “you’re all on my Christmas card list.” Wow! Really?!!

It took a few days for the post to go on the FP page. In the interim, I bored my wife to tears, telling her about how great this was – how being FP’d was the Holy Grail of Word Pressism. How since I started blogging here, I’d flirted with the hazy, distant dream of getting on that hallowed bit of web turf. At first she congratulated me, as we do when one of us gets some measurable creative success. (she’s a photographer) By day three, her boredom was becoming visible – her eyes were glazing over and her smiles were looking a bit Lil Kim-esque (Botox restricted), so I stopped talking and waited.

Late that night (about 10ish CET) it went live. As the likes, follows and comments started rolling in, the humility I pride myself on began to wane. I started likening being FP’d to receiving the Pulitzer Prize for blogging. For a whole hour or so I thought I was the shit! Hands down…the SHIT! The next morning I woke with my grip on reality re-established, remembering that I’m just another blogger who wrote a good post that happened to get noticed.

Looking at the reaction to my and other FP’d posts, I’d say every interaction could be split into three distinct groups:

1. Coming from bloggers who are working Word Press hard!

2. Coming from bloggers who genuinely like your work.

3. Coming from bloggers who genuinely like your work, but are also working WP hard!

I must stress that I have no issue with group 1 – the guys who write pretty generic comments, who end their posts with URLs back to their page, and comment on almost every single FP’d post. You’re the kind of WPers the rest of us should emulate. You’re out there seeking full blogosphere domination and I respect that…honestly I do. That said as the ‘Pressee’, I clearly gravitate more toward camps 2 & 3, who I think make up the vast majority of my feedback.

My aim is to slowly work my way through everyone (regardless of which group you fall into) and have a read, like and follow back…perhaps. I don’t do reciprocal gestures, so if I follow you, it’s as a result of being entertained and out of a sincere need or curiosity to read more.

Thanks again for the love. I honestly appreciate it. (Exit stage left. Award ceremony orchestra plays the theme tune to Shaft)

20130825-170136.jpg
Image courtesy of me.
Holding this pose whilst replying to comments isn’t easy.

About The Other Me

Londoner born and raised. Living in Denmark. Occasional singer/songwriter, music fan, nearly author, recovering procrastinator. To read or listen to the amateur stuff I call my art, click on the picture and press the links to either my FB, Wordpress or bandcamp pages. Thanks
This entry was posted in General, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some Post Pressed Analysis

  1. ciwebber says:

    Congrats! Hope to follow in your WP footsteps…..I really enjoy reading your posts. Keep up the good work.

  2. BetaJuliet says:

    You write great content – that’s why you got featured! You contribute to the WordPress community and raise the bar. Now keep the hits coming 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    I sometimes explore FP when I’m having some rare downtime and I will say that I am enjoying your writing style. Your use of vocabulary, tone and rhythm makes for a comfortable read – similar to listening to a very skilled musician that seems to play with ease, (though the result is far from achieved with ease). Great blog. Great writing. No reciprocation expected. I do the same: “I don’t do reciprocal gestures, so if I follow you, it’s as a result of being entertained and out of a sincere need or curiosity to read more.” Indeed, it is a more authentic benchmark.

    • The Other Me says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time to read and to add such a nice comment. Really appreciate it. (I have a nut allergy too by the way)

      • Michelle says:

        Ah, I didn’t know that. Well, I should read more and find out these things, eh? 🙂 So, you know about the plight of the food allergic. I’ll have to see if you have a post about that. Your writing really is fantastic!

Leave a Reply

